2017 Awards

2017 IES-APA Awards Nominations:

Thank you to everyone who took time to submit applications for the IES-APA 2017 Awards. Because of all of your hard work, the Awards Jury has 28 applications to review covering 15 categories with multiple applications in the Best Practices, Comprehensive Plan- Large Jurisdiction, Comprehensive Plan-Small Jurisdiction, Urban Design, Communications Initiative, Economic Planning and Development, and Transportation Planning.  The Awards Jury had met on April 7th and reviewed all applications received for our 2017 Awards Program and voted accordingly. Congratulations to all who had submitted and have been recognized!

 2017 IES-APA Award Recipients:

Number Category Nomination Result
1. Best Practices Streamline Riverside Winner
2. Best Practices CSU Palm Desert Merit Award
3. Best Practices Desert Knolls Wash Tribal MOU Merit Award
4. Communications Initative Richard Wilson Winner
5. Communications Initative HCN Connect Merit Award
6. Comprehensive Plan- Large Jurisdiction Temecula Trail Winner
7. Comprehensive Plan- Large Jurisdiction Nason Street Merit Award
8. Comprehensive Plan- Large Jurisdiction Downtown Murrieta Specific Plan Merit Award
9. Comprehensive Plan-Small Jurisdiction Palm Desert General Plan Winner
10. Comprehensive Plan-Small Jurisdiction Adelanto North Merit Award
11. Comprehensive Plan-Small Jurisdiction Colton Downtown Merit Award
12. Comprehensive Plan-Small Jurisdiction Downtown Hemet Specific Plan Merit Award
13. Comprehensive Plan-Small Jurisdiction Virada Specific Plan Merit Award
14. Economic Planning and Development Award Waterman Gardens Winner
15. Economic Planning and Development Award WRCOG Fee Study Merit Award
16. Elected Official Laura Roughton  Winner
17. Emerging Planning & Design Firm KDI Winner
18. Grassroots Intiative Award Women’s Policy Institute Coachella Valley Winner
19. Hard Won Victories Coachella Valley MSHCP Winner
20. Implementation Desert Palisades Winner
21. Innovation in Green Community Planning Palm Springs Sustainability Winner
22. Innovation in Green Community Planning Riverside County Health Initiative Merit Award
23. Innovation in Green Community Planning CSU San Marcos ELA Merit Award
24. Innovation in Transportation Planning SBCTA PIP Winner
25. Professional Planner Matthew Burris Winner
26. Public Outreach Prezi- Planning 101 Merit Award
27. Transportation CV Link Winner
28. Urban Design Award CSU San Bernardino Winner


Awards Dinner:

All applicants are invited to attend the Awards Program Dinner on May 18th at the Riverside Convention Center. Our program will run from 6 PM to 8 PM with cocktails and appetizers starting at 5 PM.  Our Awards Program is a great opportunity to get out the word about your agency or firm by Sponsoring our dinner. Cost for registration is $40 for a regular ticket and students are FREE. Dinner and drinks are all included! Students, please indicate your school in the “Company Name” when you register.


Please consider an IES-APA Sponsorship. Your continued support helps to offset the costs of administering the organization and allows us to continue bringing quality workshops and programs to our members throughout the year. We have received a couple early-bird sponsorships for this year’s award program already!

We are also looking for donation items to be raffled during the awards program. Items generally consist of gift baskets, tickets, and other unique items representing the Inland Empire. Find detailed information for sponsorship here:

For more information about the nomination process and sponsorship levels, visit: IES-APA Sponsorship Page


Any questions about this process or sponsorships can be directed to: Chris Gray, Vice Chair – Awards Program, at

You may also contact for any other questions or concerns.